Apple Locks Screenshots To Thwart Scammers

Apple recently announced a change to their rules regarding how app screenshots are managed within iTunes connect.

Previously, once a developer had submitted app screenshots through the app review process they were subsequently changing them after their app had been approved and using different screenshots that show more popular apps.

This practice was obviously popular enough to spur Apple to take action against the scammers trying to trick users into buying fake apps.

While fake apps are usually removed from the Apple iTunes App Store quickly and customers refunded these new rules are an extra measure that could help save customers a lot of frustration and should also help protect the legitimate developers’ intellectual property.

Here is the Official Notice from Apple:

Updating Screenshots in iTunes Connect
Beginning January 9, app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved. New screenshots may be uploaded when you submit a binary for an update to an existing app or a new app.

About 

We’re an Australian Mobile Agency delivering Mobile Solutions including Mobile App Development, Mobile Marketing and Mobile Website Design.

Leave a Reply